Stop at the Rest Stop

10 04 2009

I remember taking those long road trips when I was little and how my parents always had to Stop at the Rest Stop.  Now as a child I absolutely hated stopping at those rest stops as I was anxious to get where we were headed! But as a grown up, I now totally get why we had to stop.  My daddy, being the driver as well as my mom and I, had to stop to get a little rest after being cramped up in that car for so long.  He had to stop as when you are tired,  you start driving in a way that you lack clarity and focus and HONEY when my daddy got like that, he started nodding off at the wheel.  It was at those rest stops that my daddy could regain his focus and when we started back up, everyone was happy and focused, we were singing and smiling and often daddy found a whole new way that would help us get to our destination faster.  All because he stopped at the rest stops along the way.

Well for us here, when we stop to take a moment to see where we are and gain focus, this will prove to help us see our direction in a whole new perspective.  The only thing I did not realize then, that I realize now as a grown woman, is that in those rest stops, my daddy was actually tapping into that peace within that I call God. This moment gave him that clarity and focus as he stopped to take a breather, to pray and renew himself to carry on toward our journey.  This is something we all must do as we travel toward our prize.  When we grow tired and weary, instead of giving up on getting to the destination, stop, pull over and spend some time at those rest stops along the way.  

So as today is Good Friday, the day we commemorate Jesus’ death on the cross and then His resurrection on Easter Sunday, we too must use Jesus as an example.  Jesus becomes our example on our own personal journey as there are things we must die to, in order to reach our goal (we will begin this discussion with, “Don’t Stay Stuck” on April 24th), but what does death have to do with stopping at the rest stop?   Death for us here would mean extinction or destruction and since we are under construction, death for us would be anything contrary to building or pursuing our prize.  This is why we must STOP AT THE REST STOP so that extinction and destruction do not begin to infiltrate your pursuit. So that frustration and exhaustion do not take you off course

“Let us not grow weary in well-doing,

for in due season we shall reap, if we do not lose heart.”

 – Galatians 6:9

 

So on this journey, it is taking time to Stop At The Rest Stop and gain focus, to rest and to look over where you are so that you may gain insight as to what you need to do next.  This moment of rest is just as important as the journey it’s self!  It is important because no one has said that the journey will be easy, so if you can renew and replenish yourself to not give up and to hang in there, this is the only way you will make it to the destination of your prize.  So in addition to working on the tasks at hand, you must keep your focus, stay energized and determined.  How do you do that if you are worn out, tired and can’t take it anymore?  Honey this is when I need a spa day…LOL  But seriously take time to renew yourself, even God took the 7th day off when He was creating the world so why do you think you don’t need to take time to rest as well?!

So this week’s question is…. What are the ways you find renewal and restoration for yourself?  If you don’t have this in place, your mission as we celebrate Christ’s rising from the dead this weekend, is to find what will bring you back to life when you grow weary and tired.

HAPPY EASTER!

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden,

and I will give you rest.

– Matthew 11:28

 

“Peacefulness is an inner sense of calm – it comes from becoming still – in order to reflect and meditate on our inner wisdom and receive answers. A peaceful heart is one that is free from worry and trouble. It’s becoming quiet so we can look at things quietly so we can more clearly understand them and thus come up with creative solutions.

It is learning to live in the present. “

– Barbara Jean

 

Sometimes the most urgent thing you can possibly do is take a complete rest

Ashleigh Brilliant quotes

 

 “Peace is not merely a distant goal that we seek but a means by which we arrive at that goal. “ 

– Martin Luther King, Jr.

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 04 2009
Chenita

Nicole, this was right on time! I enjoy the blog very much. You continue to be an inspiration.

13 04 2009
Mariama

If there was ever a time when I needed to hear this it is now. I am in the process of preparing for a sabbatical through an amazing fellowship for which I was selected. There are a million things to do and recognizing that I am not going to get them all done is crucial so that I can really be excited about this 3 month rest stop. So today I am taking a moment to be excited that there is a rest stop coming. So I don’t get all of my driving done on schedule – there is plenty of road ahead!

14 04 2009
Jeanette Conrad-Ellis

Right on time! I’m at my rest stop now. We drove to St. Louis for Easter to visit family and on the way back, we dropped the kids at the grandparents for 3 days so Mom could recharge her battery. Since my children and home are my work, I hadn’t had a break from my beloved brood since October so you know my battery needed major recharging. And when my battery is low, the house doesn’t flow! I’m doing my spa time, working on my projects w/o interruption, having date night with my man every night, and just not being accountable to anyone but myself until Thursday afternoon. Aaaaah! I’d prefer being in Maui or at least a rest stop that’s sunny and 70 degrees, but sometimes you gotta just pull over and stop at the nearest rest stop! Love the blog! jc

Leave a Reply

