Rehearse it or Release it

29 05 2009

The last few weeks we have discussed the decision between staying stuck or letting go which is really as simple as either to rehearse it or release it.  We can either repeat the same scene in our lives by allowing those things that have hurt us or hindered us to happen over and over again or we can let it go and be free from it so that we can push past this place and move on to building the life of our dreams. 

So what is the difference between rehearsing and releasing? Well when you think of rehearse what do you think of?  For me I think of doing something over and over again.  A great example of this as we talked about a few weeks ago is the children of Israel who made an 11 day journey turn into a 40 year trip as they rehearsed the same day over and over again.  You see their negative outlook and disbelief, kept them going around that same mountain over and over again and not allowing them to see past where they were to get to where their faith could take them. They kept living through the things that had happened to them in the past and this is absolutely what we do when we allow those things that have occurred to be played out over and over again in our lives.  If we want to move forward in our lives and not stay stuck, we must make a different choice which is definitely to release it by letting it go.
 

“Getting over a painful experience is much like crossing monkey bars. You have to let go at some point in order to move forward.”
Author Unknown

So to release or to let go is an act of surrender. Let me put it this way, have you ever heard the saying “to let go and let God?  Well imagine that God is in the driver seat of your car and you are in the back seat….now would you trust that God knew the direction you are headed in?  Or would you be a back seat driver? Yelling out where to turn and which way to go and complaining that it was taking too long? Well if you said to your self that you would sit in the back and trust the direction you are headed in then that is truly the surrender part of letting go. According to the Webster dictionary, surrender is to give (oneself) up into the power of another, to relinquish.  So if we look at surrender from this context, to surrender is to realize that we actually can not control how people act and the decisions that they make. Instead of fighting “what is,” we must learn to accept and to be at peace.  It is to relinquish or release the need to be in control of everything and in essence to realize that God is in control!

Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding.” –Proverbs 3:5

So instead of always asking why, why did this happen, why would they do that, etc… it is learning to trust that…..

 “all things work together for good to those who love God…. ” -Romans 8:28a

We will discuss faith beginning in our next segment but if we can trust that all things work together for the good and realize that all we CAN control is how we allow things or people to affect us and/or how we choose to interact or react to it, then we can release ourselves to have peace.  By choosing to have peace, and trusting that what is meant to be shall be, we can hold onto more of a positive outlook on all things that come our way. To keep yourself in this positive space, you must get rid of all negative people, emotions and thoughts that haunt you, take up your space and steal your joy.  These things infiltrate your being and affect how you relate to people places and things that are currently in your life as well as those to come. By letting go, we actually allow more positive energy to flow to us instead of trying to force what may not be meant to be….if it don’t fit, don’t force it. 

 So letting go means to release and to take back your remote, to forgive anyone or anything that has hurt you or offended you.  By forgiving, releasing and letting go, you are by no means acting like your feelings of hurt, anger and/or hatred are not there. There is no way you can get rid of the circumstances which have made you feel the way you do, however what you are doing is choosing to no longer allow them to affect you.  You are letting go of what these feelings do to you, you are moving away from the notion of STAYING STUCK and dwelling on it.  You are accepting what has happened and moving on from it.  So to sum up our last 2 weeks have you taken back your remote?  Have you freed yourself to forgive?  The question for this week is now that you have brought those 2 areas into your awareness over the last 2 weeks;  on the monkey bars of life what is it that you need to let go off in order to take hold of possibility in your life?

 “Breathe. Let go. And remind yourself that this very moment is the only one you know you have for sure.”
— Oprah Winfrey

“Let go.

Why do you cling to pain?

There is nothing you can do about the wrongs of yesterday. It is not yours to judge. Why hold on to the very thing which keeps you from hope and love?”
— Leo Buscaglia

Actions

Information

5 responses

29 05 2009
Milca Matos

Wonderful word! Keep blessing the lives of many!

Keep on!
Milca

29 05 2009
Kendra Queen

Wow, these have been the pages of my life…..I really hate betrayal and I dispise very opinionated people. Having to deal with that for the past 5yrs has really taken a toll. It seems God has brought me to a place where I have really goten to know myself, a place that is very foreign, one where I am totally out of my comfort zone and I constantly being tested. With a mother-inlaw with very strong values and old fashioned ways….alot is never enough. I stand out, being the wife of the pastors son. I am constantly being judged and watched. One mistake, all hell breaks loose. It’s funny because I never desired this kind of lifestyle. But I’m always asking myself, is this really about me, or is it God wanting to do new things in me but in order to do those things, he has to change the wrong in me that I don’t always see? And it has been hard for me to move forward because as soon as I make any effort I am consantly being reminded of my pain. Wow, letting go is very hard to do, but I am dieing inside as I continue to hold on those things. So everyday is a release. I try to let go by meditating and praising daily.
As they say…..How do you eat a whale? One byte at a time!
“My Thoughts”

29 05 2009
Jeanette Conrad-Ellis

Well said. I takes a spiritually mature person to recognize that rehearsing the drama isn’t going to make it mo’ better. Only by releasing it do we heal from the woes of our past and allow room for God to heal our hearts and souls. Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” If we hold on to God’s word and believe that He will use ALL of our experiences for his glory, we can release the bad stuff to God and know that it will be transformed into something glorious. Romans 8:18 “I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.” But only if we stop rehearsing it and allow God to use that experience for good.

30 05 2009
Raushanah

Thank you soror Nicole, the words in this segment are truIly “freeing”, if that’s a word, but I usually pride myself of living a life without regrets, meaning that in my decision making process in any situation I give every consideration upfront, so I always thought that it was easy for me to have faith and let it go if things don’t go the way expected!!! but when i really start to spend time with myself, is when I start to realize that I really didn’t release those feelings or emotions of past hurts or whatever they may be. What I’m really doing is trying to control by avoidance and this is probably what is keeping me from really being happy and free. and I see it all the time in others where they claim they forgive or forget but they are so bitter and you are stuck wondering what you did but it was something from their past that is not allowing them to be happy. Thanks
Peace & Blessings

30 05 2009
Linda

This week’s subject is most tied into last week’s blog entitled “I Forgive You”.

Forgiving someone or forgiving oneself for a deed that should not have happened releases you of the negative and allows you to move forward. Rehearsing this scenario over and over in one’s mind will give a wonderful feeling and will empower you to make the actual step. Keep Movin!!!

Leave a Reply

