Things That Make You Go…Hmm

9 07 2009

Do you remember the Arsenio Hall show? Well one of my favorite segments on his show was called… “Things That Make You Go, Hmm” where Arsenio would share various current events, or would ponder certain people, places or things that were happening in the world as a moment of contemplation and reflection. Of course this moment on his show had a funny spin on it; however when I think back to this segment, it really does make me think and/or contemplate about many things and as I did so it made me curious about what contemplate really means?

So in my curiosity, I looked up it’s definition and was surprised at what I found. According to the Webster dictionary, contemplation is a concentration on spiritual things as a form of private devotion, a state of mystical awareness of God’s being, an act of considering with attention or the act of regarding steadily. Wow I never expected to see that definition!! So if I translate from what Arsenio meant to our Focus on Faith; as we add contemplation to our discussion over the last weeks of communication and concentration and/or listening, this really does bring us to a place of full awareness of who God is.

I will meditate on Your precepts, And contemplate Your ways.” Psalm 119: 15

It is in this place of contemplation that you begin to think about, reflect on, and apply the various things you find out and learn about God. This ultimately will influence how you think and ultimately what comes out of your heart.  Why you may ask? By contemplating on His works, ways, purposes and promises you get to know who God is and what He has done which then develops into a relationship with God. And the more you get to know a person and spend time with them, isn’t that what you are doing? Developing a relationship? I know for me, the more I get to know God the more I marvel at His works, the more I want to learn and become a woman after His own heart and this is definitely what I mean when I say focus on faith. This is more than a call to religion but a call to a relationship. You see standing in a garage does not make me a car any more than me going to church makes me a Christian. Sure I need to go to church so that I can learn more about God and to fellowship with others that are on my same journey. But a relationship is far more than religion; it is getting to know God for YOURSELF and to do so you definitely need these 1st 3 ingredients of communication, concentration and contemplation or getting to know, understand and meditate on who God is. So as I grow in God and begin to know Him for myself, I can

“Meditate on these things; give yourself entirely to them, that your progress may be evident to all.” – 1 Timothy 4:15

As I began to meditate more and more on God I realized that my attitude began to change for the better. For those of you that knew me back in the day, I used to have a pretty bad attitude but God has turned my attitude into something so pleasant as I seek peace every day of my life. How you may ask….the more I get to know him, the more I want to be like Him. You know that saying, those closest too you, you become, well as I began to know God, I found that I was…..

“And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” – Romans 12:2

So I found as I contemplated on all that I was learning, I was becoming a better ME! I was learning how to treat people better and how to not let little things that happen everyday steal my joy! Some days I am better at it than others but now I have a tool that helps me smile and find a rainbow in every storm. Now I must admit that, for a woman that had absolutely NO patience, the hardest for me to learn was….

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. –Philippians 4: 6 & 7

What do I mean by all of this is? Well as you take a moment to think on all these things that definitely Make You Go…Hmm, you begin to dig in and explore your curiosity and as you explore you own curiosity about the Almighty, you begin to know HIM and you also begin to get to know yourself more deeply. It is in this level of intimacy with the Almighty that eventually you begin to trust Him. Trust is what we will discuss next week so for this week, take a moment to answer all your questions, to kill the thirst of your curiosity and get to know God for YOURSELF and when you do, you too will find that…

“For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts.”- Hebrews 4:12

Reading the bible is like reading any great novel as the stories of how others encountered God come alive and allows us to ponder God’s heart and how He works. So that His word and our relationship with Him becomes sharper than any other thing we may use when we are going through. I have learned for myself that if I can let go and let God it is sharper than any rolling of my neck or trying to pay someone back for what they have done. It is sharper than my own way of doing things because as we get to know God’s heart, it ends up changing our heart as well…..

“Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.” – Philippians 4: 8

If ya don’t believe, check it out for yourself…. Things That Make You Go…Hmm

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 07 2009
Chenita

Very good post, Nicole! Keep them coming.

9 07 2009
La Ticia McEachern

Wow! This is so powerful. “Imani” Having faith is a matter of life and death. When we speak things we are demonstrating faith on an ideal that has manifested itself from the spirit to the tongue. We must first stop thinking death or demise on a situation because the longer you think about something the more you become convinced that it will take place. The second thing we must learn to do is separate our tongues from the flesh when a situation is negative and connect our tongue to the spirit so that we can speak Holy Ghost life into the situation. Each day we demonstrate faith in food, clothing, shelter, and transportation to help us survive. Why is it so hard to depend on have Faith in God? He clearly has made a way to provide these things unto us, yet we sometimes focus on the negative and speak death on our situations having faith in destruction and depletion. God has given us power in his word. His word is POWER! Turn it on…how do you do that? Faith without works is dead. By reading his word and speaking life into your situation continuously you have activated your FAITH!

10 07 2009
Linda Smith Murray

Shhhh….. I am contemplating.

Leave a Reply

