Is it Safe?

23 07 2009

I have not seen too many scary movies in my day but the one’s I have seen, the sista is not usually the one that gets killed because she went into that one room no one wants to go in? Do ya know why? Because if we know it is not safe, we ain’t going! LOL….but in all seriousness if we think about it, fear is the absence of trust and when we feel fear what is it we seek? To feel safe.

Well, when there is trust in a relationship you feel safe and secure in whom this person is, how they will treat your heart and their role in your life. When you feel safe, you can expose your most vulnerable self, while knowing that this person will not take advantage of you opening up yourself to them. It is in this most vulnerable place that you can really let your guard down and begin to TRULY know a person’s heart. It is in this most intimate place that the wall that most of us keep up to make us feel safe, comes down and you can allow this person to see you as your true self. It’s like taking that make-up off at night and allowing folks to see us as our most natural, true self: ya know minus, mascara, foundation, blush etc… It is in this safe place that you can connect with others on a deeper level. So what does it REALLY mean to feel safe?

Have you ever watched a child who is afraid of something? Like when you are at Disneyland and the big ole’ Mickey Mouse comes over and a child is so terrified, they are running, trying to get away from Mickey. However if their parent picks them up and takes them over to Mickey, they might just shake Mickey’s hand. What causes that child to feel safe in their parent’s arms? It is trust in the parent. But why does the child trust the parent? Is it because the parent has shown that they will not let anything bad happen to that child? So when we look at this perspective as we Focus on Faith, God has given us plenty of evidence on which to base our faith, our trust, in order for us to feel safe in Him. It is the trust that comes from having a relationship with God and if we truly know Him – His character, His love for us and His word – then we too can trust Him to keep us safe from harm.

Let’s look at it this way, again going back to a relationship to explain this concept further, if you are in a relationship and your partner tells you that he has lost his job, how do you respond? If he is able to be vulnerable with you, do you make him feel safe or do you start that ole rolling of the neck, going off because you can’t pay your bills? Or instead, do you reassure him that you trust that he will find another job and that the 2 of you together will work everything out? This is what I call a safe place. Where the 2 of you can be vulnerable from those big ole Mickey Mouse’s in the world, knowing you can find comfort and safety in each others arms. It is this same comfort and safety that God provides for us. All of this makes me think of that poem footprints…

One night I dreamed I was walking along the beach with the Lord.
Many scenes from my life flashed across the sky.

In each scene I noticed footprints in the sand.
Sometimes there were two sets of footprints,
other times there was one only.

This bothered me because I noticed that during the low periods of my life,
when I was suffering from anguish, sorrow or defeat,
I could see only one set of footprints,
so I said to the Lord,

‘You promised me Lord,
that if I followed you, you would walk with me always.
But I have noticed that during the most trying periods of my life there has only been one set of footprints in the sand.
Why, when I needed you most, have you not been there for me?’

The Lord replied,
‘The years when you have seen only one set of footprints,
my child, is when I carried you.’ ”

This is TRULY what I mean by a safe place, it is trusting that God has your back, that He will not leave you or forsake you. That He will carry you when you can’t carry yourself. You can anchor your life in the hope and promises that God brings to each of us. “He is the well deep enough to draw from when you need peace, hope and wisdom, insight and love, endurance and faith..”

All we need to do when we need to be carried is to put our hope and trust in God and let Him do the rest. So this week, we ponder how we each individually can find safety in the arms of God.


“Oh the comfort, the inexpressible comfort of feeling safe with a person, having neither to weigh thoughts nor measure words, but pouring them all right out, just as they are.” – Dinah Maria Mulock

Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” – Matthew 11:28

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 07 2009
abrayboy

I completely agree!

“Worry is faith in reverse.”

24 07 2009
Tiffany B.

I can definitely identify with this week’s topic. I thought the blog provided a great perspective. What if, what you fear is trust? I think people have been through some hard things. I agree that fear may be the absence of trust. But what if your fear is trusting?

Something to think about. At some point you have to step out on FAITH (Imani) and I think that’s how we should approach these situations as Christians. We will not always know if a thing will hurt, or be beneficial but if we look to him we can’t go wrong. Even if you end up hurt, there is a purpose and a plan!

Leave a Reply

