Put a Ring on It

6 08 2009

Once you get to a point in a relationship that you feel like you have really gotten to know the person and you can feel safe and secure, that you trust them and of course ya love them; your next natural step is to make a commitment or as Beyonce says to Put a Ring on It.  

When you Put a Ring on It, or get engaged, you really are saying that after getting to know who you are and seriously exploring and trusting you that I want to share my life with you and thus I am ready to make a commitment.  This commitment means that I will cherish and protect our union, our partnership and that I am making a promise to strive toward building this relationship on a day to day basis.  I am making a promise to share my life, love, dreams, desires and my world with you for the rest of my life. 

Well entering into this commitment usually starts first with the engagement ring that says to the world and to you that you are working toward marriage.  Once you Put a Ring on It, it becomes a time of preparation toward your future together which will include good times and bad, triumphs, challenges and conflicts. “Research shows that there is a window of opportunity during the year before the wedding and the six months or so after when couples get the optimum benefit from marriage preparation. Later, under stress, negative habits and relationship patterns may become established and be much harder to resolve”. (Patty & Greg Kuhlman – “Marriage Success Training Marriage Prep Workshops”)

So as we enter this special phase in building a lifelong union, this is also a place we come to in our relationship with God.  This is a place where we must make the decision that we want God to be a part of our lives and we are ready to walk with Him 24/7.  This step is a expression in the highest regard and a great compliment of love. It is so because as your partner offers you that ring, he is saying that you have been placed as the highest priority in my life, and this place you come to with the Almighty is no different.  This is a time to treasure this commitment and use your relationship as a launching ground that marks the beginning of a new journey, which can take you to new places!  New experiences! New heights!  Just reading this bible verse makes me feel like I am entering into this wonderful union with God….

 “For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me; when you seek me with all
heart. I will be found by you, says the Lord” – Jeremiah 29:11-14.

Come to think of it, most of us believe that “the ring” is a symbol of never-ending love, devotion and commitment and therefore putting a ring on it in regards to our relationship with God is a moment where you say YES LORD I am ready to commit to having you be a part of my life as I walk with you daily, learning more about you and building a life with you.  However before you take the BIG plunge into that marriage pool; there may be some things you need to work out so that you can fully commit to this relationship.   So when that ring is coming and you are getting ready to say yes to the commitment, it is important to think about this as much bigger than just a wedding but that you REALLY are starting a new life.   Unfortunately, there are many who may say yes without even thinking beyond the wedding to actually prepare that life that will travel well beyond just that wedding day.   So think about it….

 “…a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh.” –  Genesis 2:24

This is what I have heard many preachers call leave to cleave.  So if you are leaving your family to start you own family, it is critical that we take into account who we are cleaving to.  The word cleaving, according to the Webster Dictionary, means to adhere closely; stick; cling or to remain faithful.   Sometimes I wonder if we really take the time to think about what it means to cleave when picking our mate, for if we pick a mate based on looks or income, what happens when those things go?   What happens when problems arise, when one of you loses a job, when you can’t pay your bills or when you need support to start your dream?  What happens as your body ages, you get sick or find out you have a life threatening disease?  So just as we enter into our human marriage to build a lifetime and have one another’s back through good and bad this is the same principle we take when we cleave to God.  Here we call it to abide in God and He abide in us.  This takes this to a whole new level!!!  So that by cleaving, sticking closely to; we definitely begin to join into one flesh, one family, one purpose, this is indeed what it means to enter into this special place with the Lord.    It is to abide in this relationship by remaining stable, steadfast, and to be unyielding. It is to…

“Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself unless it abides in the vine, so neither can you unless you abide in Me. I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing…My Father is glorified by this, that you bear much fruit, and so prove to be My disciples” – John 15:4,5 and 8.

It’s almost like a man saying to his wife, if you can trust me, I will do right by our family. Just have faith in the man you fell in love with and watch me give you everything you ever wanted.  Shoot if we can believe that from a man why can’t we believe that from God?!!  God has given us everything, all He asks is….

“But seek you first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added to you.”  – Matthew 6:33

And as we do He will indeed give us everything.  So as we enter this place where we Put a Ring on It and prepare to enter a union with the Almighty, the question to reflect on this week is, how might you enhance your ability to seek Him first in all that you do?

 “Unless commitment is made, there are only promises and hopes; but no plans,” – Peter F. Drucker

Actions

Information

3 responses

7 08 2009
Ynette Wilson

Thank you so much for this message. I truly needed to read and receive that in my life right now. The priority is always my relationship with Christ. If I let that suffer I cannot build a strong relationship with anyone else. It would be like building that house on sand.

7 08 2009
ministry for married couples

Wisdom in Beyonce’s song, I never would’ve figured. But the ultimate wisdom lies in God’s words. As long as a couple abides in Him, they will never fall apart.

7 08 2009
tene

I like this one… I have so many friends who are single; who think if they get married then that solves everything… Too focused on the wedding and not think about the marriage..

Leave a Reply

