The power of the wind

24 09 2009

One of the quotes from last weeks’ blog really got me thinking …

 “You can’t control the winds, but you CAN control how you set your sails.”- Ralph Marston

This quote really got me thinking about the wind and the power of something that we cannot see but definitely can feel.   Wind can be as large as a tornado, taking homes and wiping out cities or as small as someone blowing at a piece of paper on a table.  As a matter of fact after a little exploration, I found that the wind was mentioned in the bible quite a few times…here is one….

 And suddenly there came a sound from heaven as of a rushing mighty wind, and it filled all the house where they were sitting. – Acts 2:2

This really got my curiosity going, so I looked up what wind means and Webster’s dictionary said a force or agency that carries along or influences but it also said that wind is a destructive force or influence.  After reading these two definitions I realized that what it really comes down to is this….  we must really look at the type of wind that the friends in our life blow.  We really need to access for ourselves if their wind is moving us in a positive direction or is a destructive influence in our lives.

Webster’s dictionary also said wind is “spirit” or “breath.” And if we go back to the above bible verse, it then made me wonder more about the Holy Spirit ….and so I began to look this up and found this….

“Do you not know that you are the temple of God and that the Spirit of God dwells in you?”- 1 Corinthians 3:16,

Hmmmm so it is this wind, this spirit of God that dwells in each of us.  So the question we must ponder is…..might the wind of those around us increase this wind that dwells in us or decrease it?   So think of it like this, God allows for each of us to have our own free will.  It is this same free will that gives us what we call choice; choice to water the seed of the sprit that dwells within so that it can grow and prosper or we can choose to allow destructive winds to come in and take over that dwelling.   You see the problem with wind is that you can’t see it and so you must REALLY be mindful of what is happening around you. You have got to know at all times what direction your sail is headed so that if when the wind comes in that is contrary to that direction, you can rebuke it and continue to move in the direction of your purpose…your promise.  However if you get sucked into one of those destructive tornado’s you will not be able to see clearly enough to find your way out of it and thus you WILL loose your direction.  So we MUST stand back and look at what is happening around you and what is happening around your friends….  Get to know the direction their wind blows!

 “For what man knows the things of a man except the spirit of the man which is in him? Even so no one knows the things of God except the Spirit of God”.- 1 Corinthians 2:11

So this whole thing boils down to this, what is the spirit of your friends that lives inside of them?   It is that wind, that spirit that then translates into all that is produced in their lives.   Basically….

Therefore by their fruits you will know them.  Matthew 7: 20

Or in other words… just as you can identify a tree by its fruit, so you can identify people by their actions…. Or you can identify them by the winds that blow in their life so sit back and take a look at their actions to access in what direction their wind blows.

 “If a man does not know what port he is steering, for, no wind is favorable to him”– Seneca

 

 “The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realists adjusts the sails.” – William Arthur Ward

 

 “The answer my friend is blowin’ in the wind.  The answer is blowin’ in the wind.”– Bob Dylan

 

Actions

Information

One response

25 09 2009
Jeanette Conrad-Ellis

Wind & Energy. If I don’t like someone’s energy, I pray that their negative energy (or wind) doesn’t influence my energy field. Recently, I’ve prayed that an acquaintance have more joy in her life so that our encounters can be more pleasant. I was on the receiving end of her negative wind tunnel a few months ago, but I’m glad to share that we had a pleasant encounter recently. God’s word says that it’s easy to pray for those we like/love, but more difficult to pray for our enemies or those causing challenges in our lives. Although I wanted to pray for evil to come her way, I “forced” myself to pray for peace and joy in her life, cause I know that when you really get to the heart of the matter, her drama ain’t got nothing to do with me, I was just on the receiving end of her bad wind. I try to make sure that my wind is pleasing to God at all times, even with folks I can’t really stand to be around. It’s hard, but I know it’s what God wants me to do, and I believe in good karma and want the wind that’s blowing my way to be fragrant and not sulphur scented! And if that doesn’t work, I just open a window and let some fresh air blow in aka new friends/acquaintances!

Leave a Reply

