Who’s Gonna Check Me Boo

12 11 2009

This has to be one of my favorite sayings of 2009!  I really do try to find any reason to say it because it makes just about anyone I say it to, laugh.  But in thinking about it, if I was seriously using this line it really would mean that I am saying “It’s all about me!  It’s all about me!”  Hmmmm… isn’t this saying symbolic of the I, me, mine culture we currently live in? We at all costs, “look out for number one”, you know we say things like, “have it your way”, “I gotta look out for ME” and now we can add to that “Who’s going to check me boo.”   

So many of us think we are all too important.  We are too busy to let a car in when we are driving down the street, too much in a rush to speak to the girl at the counter in the supermarket, don’t have enough time to stop and speak to the receptionist at the school when we are picking up our kids. Many have complained about folks (especially our youth) and their growing lack of respect for one another, let alone the world around them.  Some say it is all due to hip hop culture and those dag gone music videos. Others say it’s everyone’s stress level because of the economy.  I say it’s just straight out selfishness.  These days, folks are just plain old comfortable with being selfish!! We will help someone only if it somehow benefits us. We are polite only if we have to be or if we know this person is “somebody” and being polite to them now, will somehow help us later.   Now while there is nothing wrong with making sure your needs are met, we cannot stop there.  We must also think beyond ourselves to the needs of others.  You never know when a simple hello can brightens someone’s day.  To live a life all and only about me, would mean that I live a very selfish existence and as if no one else mattered and I really do not care. It would mean that I am exclusively concerned ONLY with myself.  Seeking or concentrating on MY advantage, MY pleasure, or MY well-being without regard for others.  How can we live in a world that solely focuses on self?

 “For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give His life a ransom for many.” – Mark 10:45

When I think of what Jesus did for all of us, I think of Him as not focusing on self.  I think of what He did as a act of LOVE.  And when you think about it, love and selfishness are complete opposites as love is focused on others and selfishness is focused on self.  Hmmm ….and pride and selfishness go hand-in-hand. They are both focused all on I, ME and MINE. To take it a step further pride and selfishness produce strife and disharmony. Could this indeed be what has happened to our village over time?  Selfishness and pride have taken over!!! 

 By pride comes nothing but strife, but with the well-advised is wisdom. – Proverbs 13:10

It’s time for us to move from the strife of pride and this I, me and mine mentality to live a life in service and love toward others.  So when I say  “Who’s Gonna Check Me Boo” it is really a call for us all to check ourselves, our neighborhoods, our friends and our families.  It’s a call for each of us to rally around the needs of others.   To take some soup to a sick friend, to feed the homeless, to plant a tree, visit the sick and shut in, be part of a community clean up, mentor a young person, send a donation to a charity…the list is endless the ways you can give your time, talent and/or treasure to help and enhance the life of others.

So Who’s Gonna Check Me Boo  is a call for a attitude adjustment to not just thinking about that next new outfit for that party this weekend or how you can network yourself into that new position or even that cute guy you met yesterday but to really look at how we can increase the landscape of our world.   It is time to turn our focus from fancy cars, and shinny gems to clean neighborhoods, health care for all, for every child to have access to quality education, to stop the violence in our communities and that no man or woman should hit or hurt one another!  It is time for us to see beyond just self to see how we can each lift up and increase the environment we live in. 

Now don’t get me wrong there is nothing wrong with wanting nice things but we have got to not just think about ourselves any more…..Check yourself ladies…wake up and let’s all see what the needs are around us.   It’s time to give back!  Over the next 2 weeks we will look at what this means deeper but for now, Who’s Gonna Check Me Boo?  Let us each check ourselves and realize the needs that are occurring around us, open our eyes and see how we can serve and give back so that others too may be lifted up.  Lifted up as we live in service to others.

“You will rise by lifting others.” ~ Robert Green Ingersoll

 

“Service to others is the rent you pay for your room here on earth.” ~  Muhammad Ali

 

“Every day I live I am more convinced that the waste of life lies in the love we have not given, the powers we have not used, the selfish prudence that will risk nothing and which shirking pain, misses happiness as well.” – Unknown

 

“Wisdom ceases to be wisdom when it becomes too proud to weep, too grave to laugh and too selfish to see others than itself.”  – Kahil Gibran

Actions

Information

4 responses

12 11 2009
Nedra

I Love it 🙂 But I totally agree we need to Respect each other better , let’s try it by baby steps ladies This was a good one Nicole

13 11 2009
Trenita Ward

A positive attitude will take you a very long way in life. It makes you and the people around you happier, healthier and far more successful. Take the time to smile, the impact it has on you and others will be far reaching.

15 11 2009
Jessica Hamilton

Excellent Soror! Thanks for checking me – this is a nice reminder that I need to step outside of myself more often. Doing so will certainly help others but also help me keep the right perspective about what is most important in this life and the next.

p.s. I loved the plug for health care for all:)

18 11 2009
tene

Good One! I always tell my kids” you don’t always get something, when you do something. Do it because it’s the right thing to do”

Leave a Reply

