The Cultivation of a Pearl

15 01 2010

As we focus on our theme for 2010 A String of Pearls” a look at The Fruits of the Spirit taken from the book of Galatians 5:22&23, we begin by looking in depth at our theme itself for 2010.

A string of pearls is more than just something that is worn.  For many, receiving their first set of pearls is a sign of the transition from youth into womanhood.

I remember when I got my first set of pearls.  It was my high school graduation.  I had on my new dress I had just purchased with my first paycheck from working at the Broadway (which is now Macy’s in California).  I was so excited and proud, yes of course about graduation but also because I was able to buy my very own, grown up, first ever silk dress.  I was dressed, I grabbed my cap and gown, my keys and started to head out to my car.  You see the graduates had to be there early, but on my way out of the door my mother stopped me.  She stopped me to give me my first string of pearls.  I remember as she placed them around my neck, how excited and grown I felt.  That same string of pearls traveled with me on my journey from that graduation day, through college, wearing them to my Alpha Kappa Alpha rush, I wore them on job interviews, to go and see President Clinton speak, my friend’s weddings and other special occasions….matter of fact I still have them to this day.   Those pearls for me were an outward sign of my inward cultivation from childhood into adult life.

Additionally, a string of pearls is something that is precious, yes precious when you receive your first pair but also the pearls themselves are precious and the more precious they are, the better.  In fact, in order to assure you have top notch pearls, they must go through a cultivation process.  A cultivation process that I too went through before I received MY first pair.   

Cultivated pearls are harvested and formed through an irritant that is purposefully embedded in them, this is done in order to polish them and allow them to shine….hmmm. With that said, I have a question for you, what if each of us is God’s own precious pearls and all He wants to do is polish each of us so that we too may shine?  If this is the case, then we too must go through a cultivation process and allow Him to clean us up, polish us up, grow us up so that we can shine.   This is the inward transformation from being a babe in Christ to becoming a woman’s after God’s own heart.  Well we really can’t appropriately go through our own cultivation process or shall I say foster our own growth without developing the fruits of the spirit, the Holy Spirit.  We do this as we keep our eyes on the prize toward becoming the woman we were destined to be. So it is the fruit that goes hand in hand with our gift that allows us to become that precious pearl.  So let’s start here, who is this Holy Spirit? 

Well I have to admit that this one is hard to define so I began to dig and research to help get a clearer picture of who the Holy Spirit is.  As I poured through bible verse after bible verse, and researched on the internet, I found an interesting website that had this to say, “The Holy Spirit does the work of God in our lives. We are born of God (John 1:12), which is the same as being born of the Spirit (John 3:5). The Holy Spirit is the means by which God lives in us (Ephesians 2:22; 1 John 3:24; 4:13). The Holy Spirit lives in us (Romans 8:11; 1 Corinthians 3:16)—and because the Spirit lives in us, we can say that God lives in us.” (http://www.wcg.org/lit/disc/13HolyS.htm)

So pretty much, what I gathered from my exploration is that the Holy Spirit is God at work in us and it is up to us to cultivate and grow that seed that is planted inside of us.  This is what I understand the partnership between us and the spirit that lives inside of us to be.  So it is our choice how this spirit, the seed planted, is produced in our lives.  It is as if we are the tree and the spirit is the seed and if we water it and harvest it, fruit will grow from our branches.  The fruit that God wants us to grow is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.  However if we choose to plant other seeds, those too shall grow.  Ya know seeds contrary to those planted by the spirit. Seeds like doubt, fear, hate, worry, strife, sadness etc…. and to that I say, “Do not cast your pearls before swine” – Matthew 7:6b.   You see the seeds that are already planted in us are the pearls that were purposefully embedded in us that can only be formed through that same irritant in order to polish them and allow them to shine, this is our own cultivation process just like that of the pearl. So growing this fruit ain’t easy!  Of course we will each meet changes along the way however the seeds of the fruits of the spirit, if cultivated and watered allow us to produce good fruit. 

“Therefore by their fruits you will know them.” – Matthew 7:20

So whatever it is you water will be produced in your life.  With this in mind, this year we will focus on each of us cultivating the fruits of the spirits so that we too shall shine!!!  Now just like fruit itself this too will not grow instantly.  No we can’t put fruit in the microwave and expect it to grow!!   So 2010 will be a year of cultivation as we foster the growth of our very own fruit. So that when it is time for harvest, the fruit is what will hang from our branches for all to see. 

How can we do this? This happens as we go deeper and deeper, farther and farther on this path in our walk with the Spirit.  This voyage will allow us to wear our very own string of pearls cultivated and harvested by each of us so that we don’t just wear them, we become that precious pearl.   So my question to you as we begin this journey is, in what area do you see the journey being the hardest for you?  I’ll tell you all for me, it shall be patience!!

Ladies we begin this journey together, hand in hand, aiming to get to our very own promised land or dare I say our very own “For Such A Time As This Moment” ya know our theme from last year J.  We shall begin each blog in 2010 by identifying the seed, so that this year and for years to come, we can ALL reap the harvest that shall grow.  Grow as we produce good fruit and become that rare, precious pearl we were each destined to be!!

 

“Without effort you cannot be prosperous.  Though the land be good, you cannot have an abundant crop without cultivation.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

 “Be careful what you water your dreams with.  Water them with worry & fear and you will produce weeds that choke the life from your dream. Water them with optimism and solutions and you will cultivate success.  Always be on the lookout for ways to turn a problem into an opportunity for success.  Always be on the lookout for ways to nurture your dream.” – Lao Tzu

 

 “Sometimes it’s the smallest decisions that can change your life forever” – Keri Russell

 

 “One is wise to cultivate the tree that bears fruit in our soul.” – Henry David Thoreau

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

