No More Drama!

25 03 2010

First things first.  In order to live with unspeakable joy we must first get rid of all the drama!!!  You know the people, places and/or things that somehow manage to keep us from having any joy.  Ya know those things that keep you stuck in one place so that that you can never move forward in your life?  Are you still thinking to yourself, what is Nicole talking about?  Well I am talking about the folks that always have something negative to say or just make you feel negative in general.  Or how about that bad relationship you had like 5 years ago.  You remember old Johnny that made your self esteem so low that you either now hate men or you think you will never find another one.    Or how about that friend who stabbed you in your back or that new position that you just KNEW was for you but someone else beat you out for it.  I could go on but basically I am talking about those things that have happened in our past that we never quite get over them which means we are stuck.     Well in order to live with unspeakable joy, we must address the anger, bitterness, resentment and/or direct it at the person, place or thing that has caused it so that we can let go of all the drama.

 “Do not remember the former things, nor consider the things of old.  Behold, I will do a new thing, now it shall spring forth; shall you not know it? I will even make a road in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.”  – Isaiah 43: 18 & 19

So we must forgive and forget the things that happened yesterday so that we can stay focused on reaching our tomorrow.  Let me give you a personal example.  You see the man I dated before my husband had been through so much that he was too that I was going to hurt him too.  Well at least that is what he told me and when I realized that this man was a fraud, a wolf in sheep’s clothing, a playa, playa and was trying to take my heart for a ride, I had to decide for myself to walk away and not look back.   Now that was a really long story short and it was not that simple,  but now that I am on this side of the drama,  I remember that when I first broke up with him I was DONE with men.  I was done because I could not see that it was HIM that was the mess and not me. That is because I was stuck in what I call the Smoke and Mirrors. I call it that because do you remember going into a fun house when we you were little and trying to find your way out to the other side?  How every time you though you knew you found where you were going you would get all caught up in the smoke and mirrors.  Well it is this same concept of smoke and mirrors that keep us stuck thinking we will never get out to see the outside of that dog on fun house.  Well HONEY!!  That is exactly what my ex was ….smoke and mirrors. He looked like one thing but was something all together different! We all have been in those kind of relationships right?!  And while you are in the midst of the drama you can’t find your way out to the other side.  Just ask Rhinna.  However if you can step outside to see the whole picture for what it is, then you can walk away from it, holding your head up high knowing that the unspeakable joy is coming and it WILL.   After all, that is what faith is, believing what we can’t see right?  So if I wanted to believe in the smoke and mirrors of my Ex and all the negative self talk that came after the break up…ya’ll know what I’m talking about.  The negative, drama talk that comes like, “I will never get married,”   “I will never find another man as good as him,”  “I will be single forever” – you know all the negative voices in your head telling you that this is it for you.  Well in that moment or any moment we come to like it, we have 2 choices… to be a victim or be a victor.   Today ladies, we make a choice to be the Victor and Say NO MORE DRAMA in my life!  To conclude my personal story from earlier, I have to tell you that when I said NO MORE DRAMA and  began to believe in who I am and not the smoke and mirrors, that is when I met my husband J  So ladies, what is the smoke and mirrors in your life that keeps you stuck?   OK maybe yours is not about a man…..maybe your best friend stabbed you in the back, honey if she did then she was NEVER your friend so successfully resolve these feelings for yourself so that you can let go of that drama.  Maybe you grew up without a father, don’t look for the father you never had in your relationships with men, successfully resolve these feelings for yourself so that you can let go of that drama.  Maybe you did not get the job that you just KNEW was perfect for you, if you did not get it, realize that God MUST have a better opportunity coming your way and successfully resolve those feelings about that job so that you can let go of that drama.  I can go on but hopefully you get that what I am trying to say is that carrying baggage or drama from one place to the next negatively impacts YOU.   So let’s each be determined to let go of drama. How do you start this process?  The first step in letting go of drama is to forgive. 

“And whenever you stand praying, if you have anything against anyone, forgive him,  that your Father in heaven may also forgive you your trespasses.” – Mark 11:25

Forgive yourself or the person, place or thing that has kept you stuck.  Forgiving is not ignoring what happened but acknowledging that you have no control over other people, places or circumstances however instead you are deciding to learn the lessons life teaches us take back your remote and not let their negative behavior have power over your life.  You accept this person, place or thing for who they are (or aren’t) and you move on, allowing yourself to be freed by the drama that is attached to this situation.   We conscious decide today THIS DAY not morn over spilled milk, instead let’s go to the store and buy another carton.  Let’s go to the farm and milk a cow, let’s

“not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart” – Galatians 6:9

And as we consciously decide to let go of the past, the future can smile at us as we move toward it.   This is how we sore to the heights of unspeakable joy (we shall discuss the gift of soaring next week) for now, what is the drama that you need to let go off?  What makes you feel angry, hurt, bitter or has you feeling resentment for something or someone?  Take a moment and be true to you and all the good and happiness your deserve and LET IT GO!

 Getting over a painful experience is much like crossing monkey bars. You have to let go at some point in order to move forward. – Author Unknown

Breathe. Let go. And remind yourself that this very moment is the only one you know you have for sure. – Oprah Winfrey

Hanging onto resentment is letting someone you despise live rent-free in your head. – Ann Landers

Let go. Why do you cling to pain? There is nothing you can do about the wrongs of yesterday. It is not yours to judge. Why hold on to the very thing which keeps you from hope and love? – Leo Buscaglia

Actions

Information

One response

26 03 2010
SheNotes

Love it, Love it, Love it!

Leave a Reply

