Sitting on Mommy’s Lap

6 05 2010

This quest for peace we have been discussing over the last few weeks, really does remind me of the feeling I had as a child, sitting on my mommy’s lap and what a perfect time to explore this than Mother’s Day weekend!!   The feeling I used to get back in the day just sitting with my Mommy was that all was well and I did not have a care in the world.  I felt like my mommy had it all under control and as a little girl she really did in my eyes.  I actually have the same feeling these days when I go to see my mom and sit at her dinner table and eat her good ole soul food…whew!!!!  This peace just comes over me bite after bite!!!! Or when I am on vacation and I am sitting on the beach, listening to the waves roll in.    Sitting on my Mommy’s lap is what I would call a glimpse of what having peace of mind is like.  For just sitting there on my mommy’s lap always gave me a sort of inner calmness and tranquility and it also gave me a sense of freedom as I knew that my mommy had me covered and I did not have to worry about anything!!!!  It was a moment in time when there was no stress, anxiety, worry or fear. 

If you don’t know what I mean regarding sitting on your Mommy’s lap, think about this, have you experience a moment where you feel like you can let your hair down? A moment when you’re calm and all the stress at home does not even come to mind as your soul is on vacation? Think about it, even while you are asleep, you are in a state of inner peace.  The question we have been trying to define these last few weeks is how do we create this kind peace of mind in our life on a daily basis? More importantly, how can we experience this peace of mind in times of trouble?   To find the answer to this question, we must learn how to bring more moments of inner peace into our daily life.

I think it all boils down to this; yes that we must make a choice but REALLY that choice is to  keep our mind focused on all that is good.  It’s like trying to stay in a state of being on vacation 24/7 and anything that steals us from that seat on the beach has got to go.  So that if we can keep our mind, our thoughts our feelings focused on what is good, then that will produce the peace we seek in our lives.  If you don’t believe me, take a moment and think of about 5 folks you know.  Think of the one’s that always seem to have a positive attitude and think of the one’s with the negative attitude.  What is the difference in what is produced in each of their lives?  Sure they both will go through hard times but the one with a positive mind is the one that comes out on top as the negative ends up turning into a positive over time but only if you can stay focused on positive.  Is like the song by Donnie McClurkin “We fall down, but we get up” you see it takes the positive state of mind to help you get up, over and over again. The negative state of mind would say you are down for the count and can’t get up and thus ya stay down there.   So ladies this desire for peace of mind may cause us all to make a mental shift in the way we think.

“And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.”  – Romans 12:2

Now I will tell you what this bible verse mean to me, a regular girl, no I am not a minister but  a woman that desires to be the best ME that I can be. Ya know, to let my light shine! Well what this bible verse says to me, is that the world may tell you that you need to get Jonny back for how he hurt you,  but instead if I am  transformed into positive thinking and move on from that situation and let it go, God will bring someone 20x’s better than Johnny just because I have found peace in the midst of that storm.    You see if I find peace like my sitting on my mommy’s lap moment, especially in those times when it is SOOOOOO hard to do so, ya know to find that feeling you had back in the day when you knew Mommy or for some of us Grandmommy or Auntie etc…. had it all handled, than why can’t I feel the same why about the creator who made my Mommy – GOD!  So if I can feel like Mommy’s got my back than I MUST know that God made my back….if ya know what I mean.   With this renewing of my mind, thoughts, thinking, I can  then focus on….. “Keeping  your heart with all diligence, for out of it spring the issues of life.” – Proverbs 4:23  and by keeping my heart focused on peace and finding the sun in every rain drop than I will only produce……“ whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.” – Philippians 4:8 If I can stay positive than in essence I am making a choice on what I am focusing and/or meditating on.  You know what I am thinking about 24/7. And if I can get my thoughts moving for my good then I will be headed in the direction of rekindling my sit on mommy’s lap moment not just today or in this moment, but to live with peace and to have peace of mind every day of my life!  The trick is how do we keep our mind focused only that which is good?  My question for you this week is what is that one thing for you, that will help you pull yourself back to your very own sitting on Mommy’s lap moment?  What will give you that peace, that moment in time when you can let it all go and trust that all will be fine?

 “Fill your mind with the meaningless stimuli of a world preoccupied with meaningless things, and it will not be easy to feel peace in your heart – Marianne Williamson

 “When we are unable to find tranquility within ourselves, it is useless to seek it elsewhere.” –  Francois de la Rochefoucauld

 “The first rule is to keep an untroubled spirit.  The second is to look things in the face and know them for what they are.” – Marcus Aurelius

 “Peace is not the absence of conflict, bu the presence of God no matter what the conflict.” – Unknown

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

