Don’t Throw in the Towel!

3 06 2010

“The race is not given to the strong or the swift, but to the one that endures to the end”

Part of the journey of living in patience is the skill to persevere.  To not give up against all odds.  To never throw in the towel. I say this because life does indeed come with challenges and when things get hard, sometimes giving up seems like the easiest thing to do. But the hardest thing is usually the right thing to do.  If you don’t know what I mean, think of the job you gave your all to and somehow someone else got the promotion.  Think of the man you broke up with that married the next girl he dated.  Think of the diet you are on and you just never seem to lose a pound.  I could go on, but the point is sometimes the easiest option may feel like we should throw in the towel, when in all actuality the biggest blessing comes when we persevere.   As a matter of fact it takes motivation and determination to hang in there at the hardest moment possible.  Hanging in there and not losing faith in who you are and how God has uniquely gifted you so that when the right moment meets opportunity, there your blessing will be but only if you don’t give up!!!  For if you do give up, you may never get to see what time and patience can accomplish. So how do you hang in there against all odds?

  1. Believe in the desires of your heart for I believe that God planted them there and if He planted them, he will help you water them ONLY if you don’t get frustrated and quit.  “Delight yourself also in the LORD, and He shall give you the desires of your heart” – Psalms 37: 4
  2. Keep a positive attitude This helps you believe in who you are and will foster the faith you need so that you WILL have the desires of your heart in due time.(we’ll talk about faith next week in more detail)  It is when you focus on the negative and allow other people to pour negative talk into you that it  will push you not to continue on your journey toward your desire.   I must tell you that when I started my youth program for teenage girls, Imani Phi Christ, some 17 years ago, so many people laughed at me and told me I was crazy.  However here I am 10 chapters later in 7 states and God continues to water this dream.   When we accept thinking that we can’t do something, we won’t!  It’s just that simple.  Instead believe that you deserve all you desire and that you are able to work hard to get it and it WILL COME!  “And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart.” – Galatians 6:9
  3. Stay focused!  Make sure you are always walking in the direction of your dreams and when you are not, get yourself refocused!  Look at where you are on the way to where you are going and realize that sometimes you may need to reprogram your GPS and go in a different direction toward that same destination.   You may even need to stop at a rest stop on your journey to renew your focus and give yourself the extra strength to press on.   Refocusing could also mean examining to see if you are still willing to work toward your desire.  After all, if you are not willing to put in the commitment and work toward anything, nothing will ever happen for you.   “ I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 3: 13 & 14
  4. When you fall down, get back up. Part of the journey of working toward your goal means you WILL make mistakes.  Things will not turn out exactly as you plan, people will disappoint you, etc…  Don’t use this as an excuse to quit, take a moment to learn from this bump in the road and take the lesson you learned, pick yourself up and dust yourself off and keep it moving.  There are so many stories about how people have overcome or reached a goal through the power of perseverance.  It is the ability to NOT throw in the towel that allows us to see the victory that comes through struggle, pain, determination, fortitude and strength of mind.  Just ask Michael Jordan, who was cut from his high school basketball team, what he did he do?  He practiced and practiced until he could get back on that team and look at the heights he reached!   Ask R. H. Macy who failed seven times before his store in New York City caught on and we all are now shopping at Macy’s all over this country!!!!  Or how  about Walt Disney, he was fired by a newspaper editor because “he lacked imagination and had no good ideas.” He went bankrupt several times before he built Disneyland. In fact, the proposed park was rejected by the city of Anaheim on the grounds that it would only attract riffraff.  Imagine that!!!!!  Even Sidney Poitier, after his first audition, Sidney was told by the casting director, “Why don’t you stop wasting people’s time and go out and become a dishwasher or something?” It was at that moment, recalls Poitier, that he decided to devote his life to acting.  Think of the Simon Cowell story from last week’s blog!  Or think about you!  Think back to when you were little learning to ride a bike.  How many times did you have to fall down before you could ride like a pro? 

Sometimes I wish I have already arrived at my destination (s) of choice on but then I have to remind myself that I AM on my way, not there yet but closer to the arrival than I was at my departure.  If I can continue to climb up my mountain, with a little determination, perseverance and patience I WILL make it to the top!  Plus I know when I get to the top of this mountain; I’ll be ready to climb on to the next one…. So ladies in what areas of your life must you continue to climb as you look forward to your next mountain?  Do you have a mantra?  What can you make your mantra that can help keep you from throwing in the towel and instead focus as you climb EVERY mountain?  Mine comes from one of my mountain climbing heroes, Michael Jordan, “Just Do It!”

 “I’ve missed more than 9,000 shots in my career. I’ve lost more than 300 games. 26 times I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.” – Michael Jordan

“I didn’t fail the test; I just found 100 ways to do it wrong.” – Benjamin Franklin

“There are no secrets to success. It is the result of preparation, hard work, and learning from failure.” – Colin Powell

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 06 2010
Darrylon Evans

I am so grateful for this posting! It came right on time. Thank you.

3 06 2010
Chrisina D.

Have you ever sat in church and the sermon hit so close to home that you thought the preacher was talking to you. Its a billion people in the,room your not even on the first row you and didn’t hear your name called but you know the message is for you. I had that same feeling when this post :0)

Leave a Reply

