Living Your Life Like It’s Golden

24 06 2010

As each of us focuses on making “A String of Pearls” and we look at the Fruits of the Spirit (Galatians 5:22) there are 9 pearls that we will focus on cultivating and growing in 2010.  (See our Theme for 2010 tab above for more information on all 9) Here we start our look at our last, Pearl 5 – KINDNESS

When I think of kindness, the first thing that comes to mind is the golden rule,

 “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” Luke 6:31

The dictionary defines kindness as having a generous warm compassionate nature marked by charitable behavior or service, marked by concern for others.”  To live a life following the Golden Rule really is living a life in service to others. The dictionary describes service as “work done for, and benefit given to another; an act of kindness.”    Think about it, loving words, thoughtful gestures, consideration of others really speaks to service as kindness in action.  When someone is kind to you, it inspires you to pay it forward and do something kind for someone else which equals being in service to others.

I remember conducting my first community service project when I was in high school.   My little 15 year old self was so focused on designer jeans and boys that I really did not have a grasp of what living a life in service to others really meant.   As I stood on skid row working with the homeless, I realized that just a smile could brighten someone’s day.  It made me see the world as so much larger than my little teenage issues of what I was going to wear at the dance or that my so called boyfriend had not called me back the night before.  It made me realize how small acts of kindness really do make a difference.  As a matter of fact, a woman on that day thanked me for my smile.  I realized in that moment that no amount of money could pay for that and that a smile given freely and easily was worth a pot of gold.   For some it could be the sunshine on a cloudy day.  A simple smile can become a little sunshine that just constantly beams down rays of joy and peace in the midst of somebody’s storm.  Who would have thought just one little smile, one small random act of kindness could do all of that?

When we take our focus off of just us and realize that others also want to be treated with kindness and compassion, living life by that golden rule manifest peace of mind, as well as love and joy which are all pearls we need on our string as we build fruits of the spirit.   Being of service to others happens easily when you live your life as it’s golden, a life lived as a expression of your gratitude for all that you have and all that others have done for you. Actually, showing kindness to others is one of the most God-like things we do.

 “Be the living expression of God’s kindness; kindness in your face, kindness in your eyes, kindness in your smile, and kindness in your warm greeting.” Let us all always choose to be kind.” – Mother Theresa

 Or just like Jill Scott’s Song Living Your Life Like It’s Golden says…

“I’m holding on to my freedom,
Can’t take it from me,
I was born into it,
It comes naturally,
I’m strumming my own freedom,
Playing the God in me,
Representing His glory,
Hope He’s proud of me..”

 So yes we are free to live and to do and to choose how we react and interact with others.  To live a life like its golden is to exercise that freedom by living in service to others and as we do we represent the glory of God as it shines through us.  I have to admit that some day’s we may not feel like giving that kindness and we have to fight to have it or even to express it.  But I remind myself that my goals is for others to see God in me.  Plus what I give out comes back to me and I sure want as much kindness, compassion, thoughtfulness, consideration as anyone else does so when I am having one of my less than positive days, I have to push my own self back into the sunshine.  I have seen how choosing to be kind especially when I don’t feel like it, it comes back to me like a boomerang.  

Why should you care about Living your Life Like It’s Golden?  Think about it this way, the essence of every thoughtful gesture is kindness. In the soul of every person that has made a difference in your life is kindness. In the deed of every hero there is kindness. Kindness does more good, helps more people, touches more souls, changes more lives and uplifts more spirits than you and I could ever imagine. It is the warm hug given to a crying sister, it is laughing with a great friend when you are having a challenging moment, it is the pat on the back of a parent saying job well done,  it is the glow of a smiling face of a complete stranger when you are having one of those days.  It makes the Earth a better place and brings joy to the World.   WOW who wouldn’t want all of that to continue to flow?  The question here is how do we give more of it away and not keep it all to ourselves?  That indeed is how you live you life by the golden rule which then allows you to live your life like it’s golden.  Over the next weeks we will explore kindness, how to have it, how to give it and how to keep it flowing in and thorough us to others.  The question to ponder for now is in what ways can you allow the glow of the gold within you to shine as you do unto others as you would have them do unto?

 “Kindness in words creates confidence. Kindness in thinking creates profoundness. Kindness in giving creates love.” — Lao-Tzu, Chinese philosopher (604 BC – 531 BC)

 “It’s nice to be important, but it’s more important to be nice.”  ~Author Unknown

 “Today, give a stranger one of your smiles.  It might be the only sunshine he sees all day.”  ~Quoted in P.S. I Love You, compiled by H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

 “Wise sayings often fall on barren ground, but a kind word is never thrown away.”
— Sir Arthur Helps (1813-1875), English writer and essayist

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 06 2010
Darrylon Evans

This speaks to me. It says in the midst of everything I’m going through, reaach out and help someone else! Live my life like its golden!

27 06 2010
JAN

a very nice and kind-hearten…

Leave a Reply

