Things Not Left to Spoil

19 08 2010

Sometimes in order to find the good in ourselves or in others we must first get rid of anything that may be hindering this progression, we must not leave things to spoil.  This is probably the most difficult part of looking for the good.  Why is this so hard?  It is like the piece of fruit that may just be starting to rot, but you can cut out that rotten piece and it is still good enough to eat.   It is this pruning process that allows you to let go of the dead so that you can allow new growth to come or so the rotten portion won’t kill the whole doggone thing.   So this is the same thing we must do in our lives, to not allow the rotten pieces to let us spoil or what some like to say, to turn us bitter.  So why do folks turn bitter?

We all have bad things happen to us, some of us fall down and get back up, others stay stuck right there in it, and those are the folks that are bitter. You see, bitter folks are those who cannot get past disappointment, hurt, defeat, set backs etc… In fact they usually dwell in it and allow it to take control of their lives.  They become like that song Icebox by Omarion, remember these lyrics

 “I got this icebox where my heart used to be,
I got this icebox where my heart used to be,
I’m so cold, I’m so cold, I’m so cold, I’m so cold
I’m so cold, I’m so cold, I’m so cold”

When someone becomes bitter they become like an icebox all because they allow disappointment, hurt, defeat, set backs, etc.. to spoil their heart and not allow any good to come in.  They can’t see past the negative place they are in to learn whatever lessons you find there and move on from it.  However, there is a way out for the bitter person, instead of allowing this situation to take over you and rot your heart, you can make a different choice to work toward cutting out that rotten part and focusing on that which IS good or the good that shall come from pruning that which was rotten or dead in your life. Take a look at the following poem that I found searching on the internet to see what I mean;   

I grasped the cup of bitterness
And proudly held it high.
I thought I’d teach a lesson
To the one who made me cry.

So disappointing was my plight,
So weak, my hurting soul;
But I held tight to bitterness
I would not let it go!

I’ll hold on to this bitterness
And let it fill my mind
.
My friend must know that I am hurt
So why should I be kind?

As long as I keep grasping
This bitter cup of gall,
My friend will feel so badly
And soon he’ll trip and fall
.

And then, in all my pittiness
I turned to God alone.
And, lo, I found that only “I”
E’er knew about my bitter stone.

My friend, he didn’t feel the hurt
That left me in despair,
For he was going on in life
While I was left, just standing there.

God gently took my feeble hand
And whispered, “Just forgive…
Then pray for he who’s wronged you
So you can truly live!”

I fell on knees before my God.
He washed away the bitter tears.
I felt His arms around me.
Quieting all my angry fears.

I bowed my head, and called on God
To give me sweet release.
Then handed Him my bitter cup
He handed me HIS perfect peace!  – Ruth H. Underhill

Rick Warren in a lesson about life’s hurts put it this way, The way God is going to teach you the good qualities in life is to put you in the exact opposite situation. How will God teach you joy? By putting you in the middle of sorrow. How will God teach you love? By putting you around difficult people. How will God teach you peace? By putting you in the middle of chaos. God never wastes a hurt. He can bring good out of anything.”  You see the more difficult the situation or adversity, the more valuable the lessons we can learn from it.  I have heard it put this way, “life’s adversities are God’s universities” – so we can choose in hard times or adversity to stay stuck or to learn something while we move on and not allow it to be left to spoil.  You can choose inner growth or inner turmoil.  You can choose to look on the bright side or to have dark days.  You can choose to learn something or to stay stuck.  What will you choose?  Will you leave things to spoil?

“Each day comes bearing its own gifts. Untie the ribbons” –Ruth Ann Schabacker

“Dwell upon the brightest parts in every prospect…and strive to be pleased with the present circumstances.” -Abram Tucker

“Adversity will surface in every life. How we meet it makes the difference.” – Marvin J. Ashton

“When bad things happen in life, don’t ask why. Ask how, and then discover what God wants to teach you.” -Rick Warren

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

