Improve your Focus

23 11 2010

What a time to think about self control!  Thanksgiving week!!  A time we all get together with family and friends to chow down on some of our favorite dishes!  However if we take our focus off of food, and really focus on what thanksgiving is for, a time to give thanks, it puts this whole overeating thing into perspective. So as continue to explore self control let’s look at improving our focus.

First things first, we must become more conscious of what we want and then whether our actions are moving us into that direction.  How we each truly take control of our life is to first become conscious of we do and don’t want produced in our lives. So what are your goals?  To lose weight, get in shape, save some money, or to stop any harmful, negative or destructive habit; whatever it is we can conquer them if we are patient with ourselves and keep our eyes on the prize.   Yes we MUST stay focused, even on Thanksgiving.  Here are some ways to improve your focus;

  1. First, think about what your goals actually are.  Matter of fact, take out a sheet of paper and write them down.  This helps us to keep our eyes on the prize so that we can actually see where we are aiming to go.
  2. Next, write down the steps it will take to get to each goal. This will definitely help you keep things in perspective and  it will also help you determine what you can and cannot do in order to accomplish your goals.
  3. Remember, progress does not happen overnight.  Keep in mind that we must crawl before we walk so allow yourself to take baby steps.  What that means for me in my goal to stay in shape on Thanksgiving but really in general, on Thursday I will only get a little bit of everything. I know that I can’t get seconds like I used to back in my 20’s.  A time when I did not have to worry about these hips of mine.  Oh and I will also only allow myself to have 1 piece of pie and not the 2 I know I will want.  You see, when you start with just one step at a time, you help to build up your confidence that your goal can be accomplished.  So for me instead of not eating all together, I have learned that I can eat a little bit of it all and I am still OK.  I learned this overtime by seeing myself fall off the wagon when I did not let myself have the food I know I love, instead I learned that for me, it is important to take baby steps and thus have a little bit of everything.  This is a perfect transition into….
  4. Put things into proper perspective.  Don’t put too much on yourself.  Knowing myself like I do, I am going to eat so instead of saying no you can’t have any macaroni & cheese and suffering through dinner, I allow myself to have a little bit of it.  Also, I know that I will say that I will work out on Friday but I also know it won’t happen and that’s OK.  That means I’ll just have to do extra next week.  That’s how I put things in perspective and don’t out more on myself than I can handle 🙂
  5. Practice building yourself up.  Be like that little engine that could and say to yourself…I think I can, I think I can until you can say I know I can…I know I can.  Practice positive self talk and be your own cheerleader toward accomplishing your goal.
  6. Don’t stress yourself out!  Remember life is about having a good time! Having fun and laughing actually helps to relieve stress so don’t be too hard on yourself.  Just find out what works for you to keep you focused.

So ladies it’s time for us to each sharpen and clarify our focus.  Think of your goal or your intentions as you sit at that table on Thursday. Focus on what you want, and the outcome you want not just for Thanksgiving but every day with all of your goals in mind.   Take one step at a time. Do only what is in line with your goals as you improve your focus and also remember to give thanks that this is your life to live and go out there and live it to your best!!  Happy Thanksgiving Ladies!

 “It’s not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.”  ~Roy Disney

 “Discipline is remembering what you want.” – David Campbell

 “Discipline is the bridge between goals and accomplishments.” – John Rohn

Actions

Information

One response

24 11 2010
JC Conrad-Ellis

Amen! My motto is “all things in moderation!” So if pie and cake are being served, and I can’t decide on which indulgence to savor, I limit myself to a small sliver of each or a slice of one, and I will enjoy the other treat the next morning for breakfast and intensify my workout that day or the next day.

Leave a Reply

