Free Your Mind

27 01 2011

“You are free, no longer a slave to unhealthy choices. You can choose to let God transform your life and be confident that He will.” – Rick Warren

As we embark on this journey next week to actually begin our Divine Design for 2011, our first step in the process is to free ourselves from old ways of thinking so that we can indeed become the new Divine Design.  So ladies, let’s talk for a minute about freeing our mind.

“Put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; be made new in the attitude of your minds; and put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness” – Ephesians 4:22-24 (NIV).

This talk of freeing your mind is a call to let go of the old and bring in the new by shifting our way of thinking. Let’s see if I can give you an example from the perspective of creating a New Year’s resolution.  Mine is to lose weight.  With that in mind,  what good is it to resolve to lose weight if you don’t change your eating habits.  This is indeed what I am dealing with now as I aim to lose the 8 LBs I gained over the holidays.  So far I have lost 5 of them, do you know how…WEIGHT WATCHERS!!!!  Which really does mean that I had to put down the chips and pick up a banana. I had to put down that cookie and pick up a pear.  I had to change my eating habits so that I could get my body back in gear.  Even more so, I realize now that I am 40 plus years old that if I want to keep myself at a certain weight, I had to put off that old man!  The old man for this situation was my 20 year old way of thinking as back then I could eat it all and never gain a pound.  That my friends is no longer my reality.  If I want something to change, I have got to do something different.  That is what I believe this bible verse is talking about when it says put off the old self and be made new. 

According to Webster’s dictionary the word make means to bring into being by forming, shaping, or altering.  Thinking of making makes me think of making a cake (you see why I am having a fight to change my mindset about losing weight…LOL) but really when you make a cake it takes effort right.  You must follow a recipe  step by step in order for the cake to be made.  So this too is what we must consciously do to free our minds of bad habits and bad mindsets.  Of negative attitudes and behaviors.  Of hurtful feelings and emotional baggage.  We must follow a new recipe of thinking ste by step!  We do this by letting go of those things that we’ve been living with and instead put on the new garments God has for us to be renewed by a changed mind. We must take the recipe we need to get to that positive destination of choice and consciously take those new steps daily. Daily until the old is made new.  Next week our blog begins to look at our journey toward that Divine Design as we use the Virtuous Woman as our blueprint, in order to become this new being it is important we check ourselves along the way. 

Remember that song back in the day that said “check yourself before you wreck yourself!”  Well that is exactly what I mean, if you want to grow and make lasting changes in our lives, we all must refocus our minds to that which is the recipe for good.  To do and become that which we want, for me it is back to 130 LBs J.  Actually do you all remember that book the secret that was all the buzz a few years ago?   Well this is what the secret is all about.  Staying focused on what we do want in our lives, so that, that which we focus on becomes reality.  This is what I call each of us to check ourselves on.  We must commit to ourselves as we take this journey over the next 11 months to check ourselves on any behaviors, attitudes or mindsets that are contrary to our destination of choice or contrary to the blueprint of a virtuous woman, for when anything is contrary to what we want comes and in that moment we MUST MAKE a mind shift.  Yes, we MUST check ourselves and change before we wreck ourselves from getting to the destination of our choice!  Of our destiny!  We must check ourselves and make a shift in that place so that we will no longer stay stuck in that same negative mindset that has kept us from moving forward year after year.  We must not be like the children of Israel!  Have you heard of the Old Testament story of the Israelites who walked through the wilderness to reach their Promised Land?  Well I bring it up here because they walked for 40 years on what should have been an 11 day trip.  It took them so long to reach their destination because they were being negative and stuck in their own old mindsets.   Sure they believed that there was a promise land but they just did not have the faith while on the path it took to get there.  They did not keep their eyes on the vision of what could be; instead they stayed stuck on what was not.  Because of this, they kept walking around the same mountain over and over again.  It took them all that extra time to get there because when you are so focused on the negative you can’t see possibilities or opportunities.  If you are so focused on the way things were yesterday, you can’t focus on tomorrow.  Today, I challenge each of us to focus on potential and promise and put yourself in a receiving position as we grow and become a woman that…

Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she smiles at the future.” – Proverbs 31:25

This year is our time to make that mind shift and to do just as EnVogue said in their song…

“Free your mind and the rest will follow”

Meaning if you can focus on all that is good, good will come.  If I can focus on fruit and put down the cakes, cookie and chips, good will come (wink, wink).  If I can focus on the blessings I know WILL come to me, they will indeed come.  That is how we will all make it to our promised land.  The question for this week is, what old mindset do you need to free yourself of in order to get there?

“One of the biggest things in business is to open yourself up for is change. We don’t have to change who we are, we have to change the way we go about it.” -Jay-Z

 “Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.” – Maria Robinson

“The doors we open and close each day decide the lives we live.” – Flora Whittemore

“If you don’t like something change it; if you can’t change it, change the way you think about it.”  ~Mary Engelbreit

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

