Master What Gets to You

17 02 2011

In order for us to tear down the old and build the new, the step that is most important is learning to master what gets to you.  We must master the building of our house so that the very foundation we build on is stable emotional, mentally and spiritually.

Therefore whoever hears these sayings of Mine, and does them, I will liken him to a wise man who built his house on the rock: and the rain descended, the floods came, and the winds blew and beat on that house; and it did not fall, for it was founded on the rock.” – Matthew 7:24 & 25 

If we are to become woman divinely designed, we must make sure our house is built on a strong foundation so that it can withstand all that may come against us and try to take us down.  That strong foundation of course starts with building your relationship with God and as you begin to understand who He is and who He has made YOU to be, that is how you build your self confidence so that you can handle anything that may try to infiltrate your home.  That’s what I believe the above verse is talking about when it says the rain fell down, the floods came, and the winds blew.  You see you may not be able to do anything about the weather but you can make sure your house is built on a strong foundation.  Let me show ya what I mean.

The rain that falls in your life is what I would call painful or difficult circumstances.  In the face of these challenges we all must learn..

 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” – Philippians 4:13

and as you do, you build the endurance and virtue of a soldier who has on his breast plate and shield and will let nothing take him or her down!

The winds that blow, I would liken that to our temper.  You know that anger, rage, annoyed feeling we get?  Well in that moment when that wind of rage blows, we must learn to withstand it so that it does not affect how we deal with folks.  You all know how a sista can roll her neck and loose it!  I have to admit I have this one bad.  So when I feel that wind of rage blow within me, I have learned to stand still and hold my peace. I have learned it is better to not act out of anger but to allow those winds to calm long enough for me to get back to my rational mind to react.

 A fool is quick-tempered, but a wise person stays calm when insulted.” – Proverbs 12:16

I had to learn that when I act out of those raging winds within, I ALWAYS regret what I say, even if I deem the person deserving.  As my momma used to say, “two wrongs don’t make a right!”  I have learned that once a word is out there I can’t erase it.   Honey that tongue in combination with that anger….whew…..can get you in a whole heap of trouble, so instead of letting someone steal my ticket to heaven, I calm myself down to get back to my happy place and react from there.  I have learned to then speak from this calmed down, less windy Nicole when my words are much more pleasant and sweeter like a honey bee.

Lastly there are the floods. The emotional floods.   You know how sometimes we all let our emotions get to us and take over our mood and our outlook. Just like anger there is also depression, sadness, resent, fear.  Whatever it is in that moment, it can take over us and cause us to look through those lenses in all we do.  It can keep us in a negative place and it is hard to see the sun when you are living in darkness.   For even in that darkness we must know two things;

 “And we know that for those who love God ALL things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.” -Romans 8:28

 “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.” – Psalm 119:105

In that dark moment we must make a choice to stay stuck in that place or to remind ourselves that our foundation builder will not let us go down like that!  So when the wind, rain and floods come in and try to take over your house, how you Master was tries to get to you is to make sure your house is built on that strong foundation! This can be summarized by one thing, a song I used to sing in church when I was little….way back in the day with my grandmother so as we end this week’s topic, I leave you with an old school spiritual…

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly trust in Jesus’ Name.

On Christ the solid Rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

When darkness seems to hide His face,
I rest on His unchanging grace.
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.

On Christ the solid Rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

His oath, His covenant, His blood,
Support me in the whelming flood.
When all around my soul gives way,
He then is all my Hope and Stay.

On Christ the solid Rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh may I then in Him be found.
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne.

On Christ the solid Rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

