What Are Spending Your Money On?

31 03 2011

She perceives that her merchandise is good, and her lamp does not go out by night – Proverbs 31:18

Have you ever stopped for a moment and given any thought to what you spend your money on?  I remember a sister friend of mine challenged a group of us to not use our credit cards for a week.  Yes that meant no cards connected to our checking accounts, no Visa, no Master Card no American Express.  She challenged us as a way for us to monitor what we spent our money on.  Well taking that money out of my ATM that first day did make me much more mindful of what I was spending my money on.  Really beacuse I did not want to take more money out of the ATM so I was very frugal with how I used it.  That week was an excellent exercise as it really made me stop and think with each purchase “do I really need this” and I found myself putting things back that I was buying on impulse. That is what I think the above bible verse is telling us.  It says she perceives her merchandise is good so that means what she is selling  and what she is buying is a good choice as it causes her lamp to not go out…in other words she works hard for her money and spends it carefully.

Actually if you think about the time in which this bible verse was written, there were no credit cards and yet the Proverbs 31 woman, all her purchases were quality buys and her lamp not going out probably meant she still had money to spare!!  Imagine that.  Making a monthly budget and not spend it all. If you really focused on what you need vs. what you wanted, how much extra money would you have at the end of the month?  In our current economic climate, even though things are getting a little bit better, this is the perfect time to think about saving and not going into debt.  I must admit that I am  a recovering shopaholic, but I have found that if every time I pick up something to buy, if stop and  ask myself one simple question, do I really need this, honey I tell you I have been be surprised at the number of outfits I put back and instead find what I need in my closet.  This exercise has proven to me that I don’t need to buy more but to shop smarter.  This week think about in what ways can you begin to be smarter with how you spend your money?  Would it take cutting up your credit cards? I want to challenge you to live on cash for a week to really gauge how your money is spent?  Whatever you find out, it’s time to take stock of how your money is being spent and begin to make smarter choices so that as we begin our discussion next week, you can learn to make your money work for you!

 “My mum says, ‘Go with your first instinct,’ but this can lead to impulse buying!” – . Amanda Holden

 “Haste makes waist”  – unknown

 “My problem lies in reconciling my gross habits with my net income.” – Errol Flynn

Actions

Information

One response

1 04 2011
JC Ellis

I listen to Dave Ramsey, and although I don’t agree with his politics, his Christian financial wisdom is God inspired. We strive for a debt free lifestyle where we buy everything with cash & our credit card is used like a debit card. Once u assign each dollar a name it’s amazing how much we value that dollar!

Leave a Reply

