Eat to Live, Not Live to Eat!

15 04 2011

As each of us focuses on becoming our own Divine Design for 2011 with Proverbs 31: 10-31 as our blueprint.  Today we begin our look at our 5th key toward getting there which is– Get Your Body Right!

We all remember the food pyramid we learned back in the day which outlined for us the different food groups we needed to eat each day to be healthy. It has been many years since I saw that chart but I still know now as a grown woman that eating the right foods and the right amounts of those foods can help me live a longer, healthier life. Studies have shown that some of the leading causes of death can be linked to how we eat.  So if that is the case, as my husband always says we should eat to live not live to eat.  However I have to admit this is hard for me when some foods just taste so dog on good!!!!  However I have got to constantly remind myself that I can still eat the good stuff just maybe not as much as I would like.  If it was up to me I would have fried chicken and mac & cheese for dinner every night with peach cobbler to top it all off.  I may even eat 2 helpings of that peach cobbler….LOL   However, I know better than that!!!  Here are a few things I have learned along the way

  • When in doubt, eat fruit or veggies.  I remember learning that we should eat at least five servings of vegetables and fruits each day.  So when I am hungry and I just want a snack I try my hardest to grab a piece of fruit instead of that cookie.  Plus if you are on Weight Watchers (like I am)fruit is 0 points!!!!
  • Choose whole grains over processed (refined) grains and sugars I remember once when Oprah was dieting she shared in her magazine is what she was doing was not eat anything white.  Knowing that helps me put down the potato and ask for brown rice when I am in a restaurant.  If you think of this rule it helps more than you know.
  • Substitute healthier fats for not-so-healthy fats.  So instead of lard, I cook with Olive oil, why because it is good for you. Fried definitely is not good but if I have to, I do it in Olive Oil so it is not so bad! I have also leraned to bake my fried chicken and it tastes just as good.  Anything that says trans fat on it I totally avoid…after all what is trans fat!!???
  • Portion control! At the end of the day, I have learned I can eat pretty much anything I want if I watch how much I am eating of it.  So if I have that friend chicken and mac & cheese tonight, I can’t fill my plate and eat until I have to unbutton my pants!!!  If I eat just enough today, I can enjoy it without going overboard and I also know I better eat something a little healthier tomorrow.

 What does this have to do with the Proverbs 31 woman?

“She is like the merchant ships, She brings her food from afar. She also rises while it is yet night, and provides food for her household, and a portion for her maidservants.” Proverbs 31: 14 & 15

The point is this; the Proverbs 31 woman knew that the food she feed her family as well as those that were working with her was very important.  Because ultimately it is what we put in our bodies that fuels us and keeps our heart pumping for years to come.  It helps us have the energy, strength, endurance, vigor to be able to do what we do.  It is ultimately key to us being able to have the stamina daily to get up and be productive.  It keeps our hearts healthy, our bodies moving and our minds alert.   With this in mind, we must be much more mindful of what we are eating.   Let’s eat to live not live to eat!

“He that takes medicine and neglects diet, wastes the skill of the physician.” – Chinese Proverb

“You are what you eat”- unknown

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

