Lean Not On Your Own Understanding

18 08 2011

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall directyour paths.” – Proverbs 3: 5 & 6

One of the major lessons I had to learn as I grew in my relationship with God is how to not lean on my own understanding.  You see I used to be one of those people that had to have it all figured out. Yes I thought I knew it all!!!  However I soon figured out that God’s plans are not always my plans and if I can truly trust the process and not try to figure every little detail out, all things ALWAYS work together for the good. This is totally in line with the Proverbs 31 woman as she….

 “opens her mouth with wisdom, and on her tongue is the law of kindness.” – Proverbs 31:26

 You see a wise woman knows that some things are not meant to be figured out.  Instead she walks with a kind, elegant ease knowing that it will work out in due time.   This whole notion of not leaning on your own understanding is a call to grow in your confidence and trust in God.  You see if you put your faith in God and not try to analyze every situation and circumstance you begin to realize that there are so many things in any given situation that may be going on that you just simply cannot see, but ya know who can see it all :-).   A wise woman knows that she is not the be all end all and instead of depending on her own strength or knowledge, she relies on the All-knowing.  I have seen how a situation could have worked out so much better, and faster for that matter,  if I would have kept my mouth shut or if I did not rely on someone who I thought knew it all,  but come to find out they didn’t.   Now I am in no way saying that you stop thinking for yourself.  Instead this is a challenge for each of us to realize that some situations and circumstances are out of our control.  What makes a Proverbs 31 woman so wise and kind is knowing the different between what you can handle and what is beyond your control, so  that you can rest in the confidence of not having to know.  This is what makes someone kind and easy spirited as you can truly let go of any situation or circumstance, even when you are in a bad place because you know this is not the end.  I am talking about when you go through a bad breakup and you think that you will never meet a better man so you keep on calling and begging him to stay.  That is you trying to figure things out instead of letting go and resting in the confidence of who your God is.  Or when you lose your job, you mope around sad and depressed instead of putting together your resume and sending it out, as you sit back and trust that God will bless you with a better job!  Having this assurance, this confident like grace allows you to stop worrying, being anxious or stressed and making irrational, foolish, crazy or risky decisions and instead to trust God.   That is how you lean not on your own understanding.

 “Faith isn’t believing without proof – it’s trusting without reservation.” William Sloane Coffin

 “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” Hebrews 11:1

 “For those with faith, no explanation is necessary. For those without, no explanation is possible.”  –Thomas Aquinas

Actions

Information

One response

19 08 2011
JC Ellis

Thanks for reminding me that I’m not supposed to see the end, but I’m supposed to have faith that the end is all God which is all good. Hebrews 11:1 is one of my favorite scriptures.

Leave a Reply

